Quantcast
 Everett True

that ‘new’ Radiohead video reviewed in full

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Sorry. I succumbed.

It’s like Bono, minus the ‘charisma’.

It’s rock music, minus any of those pesky dynamics you usually associate with the form.

It’s like those irritating buzzing flies that always come into our kitchen around 5.30pm and buzz around the trails of blood until I get the electric badminton racket out.

It’s drum’n'bass, watered down and made putrid for popular consumption.

It’s rock music as mime: all the posturing and none of the substance. Or humour.

It’s rock music as midlife crisis: premature and unwanted.

It’s rock music as mud: grey, formless, useless.

It’s Radiohead. And I do not like it.

Pages: 1 2

32 Responses to that ‘new’ Radiohead video reviewed in full

  1. S5 February 18, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    unfortunately, I have to agree….

    wonder what the rest of the tracks will be like….

  2. Stephen February 18, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    You are a wanker.

  3. Ally February 18, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

  4. S5 February 18, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    I get the impression Thom and the boys are too scared to “cover the same old ground” lest they be laughed at for not being cutting edge enough.

    If they released 10 OK Computer type albums I’d be happy.

    OK Computer still blows me away when I listen to it today, I doubt however their newer albums will ever. I keep re-visiting them in the hope I’ve progressed as an individual and that I’ll get into them.

    Good music = good music, that wont ever change!

    S5

  5. Pingback: [Vid] Radiohead – Lotus Flower | mp3hugger

  6. Sycamore Flint February 18, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    We expect too much of them. It’s a good song, not one of their best but good, but when there’s so much anticipation and forensic attention, and so much expectation that they are always going to be breaking boundaries, nothing they do will ever measure up. We seem to either want them to re-invent music, or to do the opposite, and go backwards and give us OK Computer every time.

    Unlike the previous poster I really DON’T want OKC every time. I prefer the later stuff but ultimately they are just a rock band doing what they do. To Martin of Otherness Rock, I’d say, oh stop whining you crybaby. “What’s the point…” indeed. There IS no point to music – THAT’S its point.

  7. Bean February 18, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    the Brazilian version of the video is much better, trust me:

  8. Everett True February 18, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    True dat, Bean

  9. danny longlegs February 18, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    i quite liked that song Creep, was that by them

  10. Princess Stomper February 19, 2011 at 12:11 am

    Honestly – as I’ve just blogged – I think most people don’t “get” Radiohead. Or, at least they don’t get why I like Radiohead. Their strength isn’t in innovation, but in understanding good songwriting. The Bends, OK Computer and In Rainbows had really fantastic songs, and the other albums didn’t. On the strength of that one track, it looks like this will be another “good song” album.

    People going on about their sound, it’s only “new” to people who stay within the narrow confines of indie rock and don’t know what other types of music sound like. Radiohead succeed by using those sounds to write better songs than the other bands who sound like them. What were we saying about the difference between having a good sound and actual talent?

  11. John February 19, 2011 at 1:16 am

    This song is terrible., There’s nothing “innovative” about it. It’s watered-down dub. This feels more like a Yorke solo record than an album by a band. And the little noises come off as turn-of-the century.

    Disappointing.

  12. Martin February 19, 2011 at 6:30 am

    Hey Everett! What a messy feedback! Hope Radiohead new album kicks ass, but the single… well it’s what it is and we were clear about it. I’m not eager to hear the whole new album right now ’cause I’m not a fan of them, I just like OK Computer and some songs here and there.

    Music appreciation is a subjective fact, and for me Radiohead is like the 90′s version of Pink Floyd. (I’d prefer Johnny Rotten’s t-shirt and Nirvana’s songwriting by far).

    Regarding OTHERNESS; we play ELECTRO ROCK and we got nothing to do with the 70′s… What the fuck is AM radio sounding?

    Sycamore Flint: We never used a bloody cry baby, it’s as old fashioned as the snobbing 90′s radiohead tea-shirt resting in piss in your closet!

  13. Lesmo February 19, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I don’t care about the hype. I like the song. Won’t change the world, nor my world, but hey, things can be better, yes, but also can be much worse. Look at Morrissey, Oasis or the Artic Rabbits…

  14. Darragh February 19, 2011 at 11:52 am

    I’m unsure on the song. I think the _video_ sucks though, and that perhaps influences my opinion of the song.

  15. bart February 19, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6nB5SnZB1E

    Just to be clear, this is the “sweet yet disturbing 70s AM radio-sounding/punk-influenced electro rock band” being cited. My god they are awful.

    This is a parody review, right?

  16. Everett True February 19, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    How can you tell if a Radiohead fan is round your house? All the furniture is “fantastic, amazing”, even though it hasn’t been changed for 15 years.

  17. Anders Limp Art February 19, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Reading the Guardian website this morning and see a link to Everett True. I remember you from the Melody Maker.

    Re. that last joke, bit pot and kettle that, given that you’ve not changed your whole Lester Bangs wannabe schtick for nearer 30 years. Honestly, “It’s rock music as mud…”. Yawn, yawn yawn, you’re boring and old and desperate Everett, which I guess is why you’re trying to leverage off Radioheads art to promote your own site.

  18. Jon February 19, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    To quote from Helen Love – “Calm down dad”

  19. Belasarius Mock February 19, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Everett True is obsessed. He luuuuurrrrves them.

  20. Martin February 20, 2011 at 7:07 am

    BART: this is the band: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWki66DEJ9w

    check this out: http://www.reverbnation.com/othernessrock

  21. Algis February 20, 2011 at 8:01 am

    hey BART if you want to speak about OTHERNESS you should better read this:

    1. http://louderthanwar.com/blogs/the-otherness-argentinian-electro-punks-tour-europe-and-leave-us-their-tour-diary

    2. http://dimitrisantonopoulos.wordpress.com/2011/02/04/fm-to-web-otherness-and-13-000-km-to-glen-matlock/

    open your mind, “old young”.

  22. Ant February 20, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Sorry. I succumbed.

    It’s like Plan B magazine, minus all the readers.

    It’s like a video review, minus talking about the video.

    It’s drum’n’bass, only it’s not anything like drum and bass, like Radiohead’s new song.

    It’s criticism as mime: all the posturing and none of the substance. Or humour.

    It’s criticism as midlife crisis: premature and unwanted.

    It’s criticism as mud: grey, formless, useless.

    It’s Everette True’s shitty attempt at a blog, which might fast become the only medium left for young writers because tangible, indie schmindie magazines don’t use mainstream press to promote themselves well enough and have to be discontinued.

  23. Everett True February 20, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    Kudos, Ant. That is the first decent response I’ve had. I say decent. I mean “semi-decent”, passing off someone else’s ideas for your own, of course. Much like the new Radiohead song.

  24. Ant February 20, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Thanks. I want at least 6 pound an hour and I can start immediately.

  25. Anders Limp Art February 20, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Jeez Everett, never let factual accuracy get in the way of witty word play, eh?

    If you’re looking for an reason behind The Thin Kids – it’s probably down to talent/creative malnourishment.

    By the way, how did that Kate Nash support go, you crazy punk rocker you?

  26. Everett True February 20, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    How many Radiohead fans does it take to change a lightbulb? 50. One to change it. 49 to play special atmospheric lightbulb-changing music

  27. Smo February 21, 2011 at 8:48 am

    Terrible review. Open your mind Everett. The lightbulb joke gave me a chuckle. The King of Limbs is compelling. Especially with LSD.

  28. Nat Spratt February 21, 2011 at 8:49 am

    So what. who cares? Also, @ E. True, maybe they are complimenting your furniture because they are being nice. Look, I’ve lived in Seattle and Portland where bands like Radiohead are never admittedly listened to by the hipster crowd. I’ve always suspected a secret private study of their music is happening anyway by the same people who scoff them, and is possibly happening here as well. Also, King of Limbs is more along the lines of Portishead anyway, which are self confessed anti-rock musicians, so your thesis statement is wrong. The point is that you listened and you did not like it. You wrote on it, you did a bad review, who cares? we are now reviewing your review. who cares? who cares? who cares? I apparently do. That being said, I really don’t care.

    Nat Spratt

  29. JJ February 21, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    15 years? If you don’t see any change from OK Computer to now, I don’t think I can put much stock in your opinions. It took the from OK Computer to Kid A to change noticibly. Along with the ‘Pink Floyd of the 90s’ comment, lazy.

  30. Everett True February 21, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    I agree the ‘Pink Floyd of the 90s’ tag is lazy. Pink Floyd were way more innovative and melodic.

  31. Ant February 21, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Radiohead and ‘no melody’ should only be in the same sentence if the sentence is ‘if you think Radiohead have no melody you’re a prick’

  32. Matt February 22, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    It is a pretty shonky album, all things considered. Cool shit here and there but quite lacking in the songwriting department. I still enjoy it but I don’t think it’s their best work (and I am actually quite the fan of Radiohead).

Leave a Reply